Reneging on Offer

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Reneging on Offer

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Feb 19, 2013 6:54 pm

I am a transfer student. I struck out at OCI and then got an offer at a public defender's office for the summer. However, I recently managed to get an offer for the summer from a regional biglaw firm (midlaw it might be called). Should I renege on my public defender offer (which I accepted in January) or no?

I am a 2l. I am currently beginning the process of applying for federal clerkships and hope to work in a big law firm or, ideally, a litigation boutique in the long run. That being said, my next favorite career would be public defender. Also, I would choose the public defender route over a decent amount of big law firms.

Advice?

hephaestus

Re: Reneging on Offer

Postby hephaestus » Tue Feb 19, 2013 6:59 pm

Renege. I don't even think it's a question.

YankeesFan

Postby YankeesFan » Tue Feb 19, 2013 7:00 pm

Can you split?

fatduck

Postby fatduck » Tue Feb 19, 2013 7:02 pm

ImNoScar wrote:Renege. I don't even think it's a question.

just remember that if you get arrested, you're gonna want to hire your own lawyer

cinephile

Postby cinephile » Tue Feb 19, 2013 7:05 pm

Yes, renege.

the lantern

Postby the lantern » Tue Feb 19, 2013 7:08 pm