Mental health--C&F, perceptions, school attitude? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Mental health--C&F, perceptions, school attitude?

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Feb 19, 2013 4:12 am

I graduated from college a few years ago and am planning to start law school this fall. Since the last few years of college, I've gone through several periods of instability.

While I have been able to make decent grades and more recently to hold down a stressful job, these periods have sometimes landed me in hot water. For instance, I was hospitalized by my college and almost expelled my senior year after describing past suicidal thoughts to one of their counselors. Most of my peers also steered clear of me after I started acting out several years before that. Since graduation, I have mostly been able to keep a lid on my issues, and as far as I can tell, no one here knows that I have problems.

I've been thinking about a few questions. If anyone can shed some light, it would be much appreciated.

- Could my past hospitalization be an issue for C&F down the road?
- What are law students' attitudes toward depression and other mental health issues? Relatively understanding, or not so much?
- What about law school administration? Is it okay to see school-affiliated counselors and to be open with them, or should you be careful about discussing some things?
- And the same with firms--if my history came out in firm gossip somehow, would that affect my prospects?