Is the legal market REALLY that bad?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
caruiz93

Is the legal market REALLY that bad?

Postby caruiz93 » Sun Feb 10, 2013 1:26 pm

I am still an undergrad and i am trying to figure out what i want. My "Dream job/career" is in law. but i keep hearing about how bad the market is and how law school is the worst idea ever. A lot of people on this forum are really snobby too and spread the attitude of "go to a T14 and graduate in the top 10 percent or you have no chance". But are things REALLY that bad? or is it just a temporary decline in the market just like there exists at times in any other field?

fatduck

Re: Is the legal market REALLY that bad?

Postby fatduck » Sun Feb 10, 2013 1:28 pm

if law school were free it wouldn't be that bad. when law school costs $100k, $200k, or more often $300k+, it's a pretty terrible bet, and at most schools you'd be better off spending that money on lotto tickets.

goldeneye

Postby goldeneye » Sun Feb 10, 2013 1:30 pm

caruiz93 wrote:I am still an undergrad and i am trying to figure out what i want. My "Dream job/career" is in law. but i keep hearing about how bad the market is and how law school is the worst idea ever. A lot of people on this forum are really snobby too and spread the attitude of "go to a T14 and graduate in the top 10 percent or you have no chance". But are things REALLY that bad? or is it just a temporary decline in the market just like there exists at times in any other field?