Oxford Law Grad—Prospects of BIGLAW?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
DanDescartes

Oxford Law Grad—Prospects of BIGLAW?

Postby DanDescartes » Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:09 am

Hi guys. I'm currently in my final year at the University of Oxford in the UK and am predicted by my tutors to graduate with First Class Honours.

I was just wondering if any BIGLAW firms would be willing to take a chance on hiring me, should I choose to take (and hopefully pass) the New York State Bar Exam. I am a US citizen, so there will be no visa issues to settle.

Also, would it be worth my time and money to go for an LLM at HYSCCN before looking for employment in the US? From what I can tell, these LLM programmes are monumental moneysinks for JD graduates, but may be useful for foreign-trained law students hoping to practice in the US.

Any advice will be welcome. Thank you for reading.

kryptix

Re: Oxford Law Grad—Prospects of BIGLAW?

Postby kryptix » Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:37 am

I'm actually not sure you can sit for the NY bar without the LLM...

That said, you might want to reach out to the Magic Circle firms first because in my experience, US LLM programs usually do not help LLMs with job placement in the US, and you would need to look for a summer position for this summer (before the LLM starts) to join this recruiting cycle. I think it might be a bit too late at this point.

I did meet a German lawyer at a V30 who the firm agreed to bring in as an associate in NY upon completing her LLM in NYC, so I guess its possible.