Is this a terribly stupid/insane idea? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Is this a terribly stupid/insane idea?

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:11 am

I graduated off cycle (I had a baby!) at a T14 this fall. My grades are bottom of the barrel, no luck even getting any interviews in the field I had the most experience and internships in, which is labor and employment. My plan B goes like this: I am a second generation immigrant from a middle eastern country in turmoil (guess which one!). I speak Arabic fairly well and lived in said country for awhile, have lots of friends/family there. Because they know I am in law, people are always asking my DH if he can recommend an immigration lawyer for them, or if I can help them. Because I'm a fool, I never took immigration law. My desperation plan B is to beg some immigration lawyer from my alma mater if I can shadow them around for a couple of months and then see if I can just start doing asylum applications and the like solo, starting my little experiment with family members first. I already did my dh's immigration paperwork, and I wasn't even a lawyer when I did it!

Is this idea insane? Stupid? Incredibly insane and stupid?

Be gentle, it's the only Plan B I have.

kalvano

Diamond

Re: Is this a terribly stupid/insane idea?

Post by kalvano » Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:13 am