Midsize vs. Solo- Does working for a Solo have a bad rep?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Midsize vs. Solo- Does working for a Solo have a bad rep?

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Jan 23, 2013 12:52 am

I'm in my last semester at South Texas in Houston, TX. I'm working as a clerk in a midsize litigation firm. The main office is in another city, and this is where the hiring,etc. decisions are made. The partner who manages our Houston office has made it clear he wants to keep me on after I take the Bar, as long as it is approved by our main office (this scares me), which won't make a decision until I am licensed.

I recently had an interview and a firm offer from a transactional solo in the suburbs. Transactions is really what I want to do (business formation, contract drafting, etc.). This position would be as an independent contractor, but the owner says he has more work than he can even think about handling and it would be no problem for me to bill between 30-40 hours a week (I believe him). Benefits are not an immediate concern for me. I will only be paid for the hours that I bill at a rate of 1/3 the billable rate. Without being too specific, it's not hard to figure out that this is fairly competitive pay. Based on my knowledge of what some of the other associates have started off at at the midsize firm, the pay at the solo firm would be quite a bit more (~$20k-$30k).