Your Fave Questions to Ask at Law Firm Receptions Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Royalduck

New

Your Fave Questions to Ask at Law Firm Receptions

Post by Royalduck » Wed Jan 02, 2013 6:24 pm

Hi TLS,

Going to my first law firm "diversity" reception next week and I don't know what to do. In my past networking experience everyone has been in an industry I was a professional in - not something I only know 5-months-worth of info about.

Are you supposed to ask about people's day to day jobs? What they did to get there - their life history and how they got this particular job? Talk about yourself and how you relate? Get a business card? What do you email them with afterward - "Hi, it was great talking to you, how can you help me get a job at your firm?"?

What's your favorite way of ending a conversation? "Great talking to you, I've got to make the most of my coming here and suck up to someone else now, thanks!"

etc.

What's your fave way to approach a law firm reception - step-by-step? :)

Diamond

Re: Your Fave Questions to Ask at Law Firm Receptions

Post by 20160810 » Wed Jan 02, 2013 6:47 pm