Alternative Careers From Patent Law - Choose Your Own...

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.

Which job to take

CEO of Small Telecom Company
57%
DoD Consulting Booz Allen
29%
Federal Consulting Deloitte
14%
Hold Out for Patent Litigation
No votes

Total votes: 7

Anonymous User

Alternative Careers From Patent Law - Choose Your Own...

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Dec 31, 2012 10:14 am

...Adventure

Hi all -

I'm a T20 grad (a little below median) that's been working in patent prosecution for a year. My firm lost the client I was working on, and I've been let go. Looking back on it, it was pretty miserable stuff, and I don't think I want another job doing prosecution.

Pre-patent law, I was an officer in the Navy, and I have a lot of technical experience leading teams at the Pentagon implementing classified networks, and I also have a EE/CS degree.

So now I'm looking for a new job.

I've been offered by a firm that does telecom satellite uplink/downlink work to take over for the original owner running the show who is retiring. 20 person company, 5 million in annual revenue. There's a lot of room to grow and it's an amazing opportunity. No initial equity, but after a year I should get about 10%. I could potentially majorly score if we were bought out in a few years, which is the majority owners intent.

Booz Allen consulting would be doing cyber security policy, which is something I have experience in.

Deloitte is a great name, and would be the highest salary (initially).