Clerking in a great district for a less-than-great judge? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Clerking in a great district for a less-than-great judge?

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Dec 27, 2012 9:45 am

Hi folks,

I graduated in '12 and have an interview in a really awesome district (for what I'm looking for) but it's with a judge who is generally not well-regarded. By all accounts he's a nice person, but many, many lawyers here think he is fairly unintelligent and not qualified to be a federal judge.

Would clerking for this judge be 1) a good experience, and 2) something that would actually help me on my resume? I'd like to clerk, but it just feels weird interviewing with a judge who is kind of the butt of jokes around the legal community in this city. But, it's not like I'm that optomistic about getting more interviews even though 2014 hiring seems to just be starting.

Anonymous User

Re: Clerking in a great district for a less-than-great judge?

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Dec 27, 2012 9:54 am

You left out the most important information - what you will do if you don't clerk for this judge. Are you at a firm now that you would stay at? Some other job? Manning a hotdog stand?

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Dec 27, 2012 9:56 am

Anonymous User wrote:You left out the most important information - what you will do if you don't clerk for this judge. Are you at a firm now that you would stay at? Some other job? Manning a hotdog stand?