Resume Length Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
echooo23

Bronze

Resume Length

Post by echooo23 » Mon Dec 24, 2012 10:21 pm

Last edited by echooo23 on Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bdubs

Gold

Re: Resume Length

Post by bdubs » Mon Dec 24, 2012 10:27 pm

echooo23 wrote:The general consensus seems to be that resumes should not be more than one page, but the problem then becomes reducing it down to what matters. I have 13 years of work experience - the first one dating back 13 years was law related, then after a prolonged gap, the last 6 years were also law related. If I edit out those 4 non-law jobs in between to get the resume down to one page, would the 8 year "gap" in employment reflect poorly on me?
How is a job from 13 years ago relevant? Experience that dated is almost always unhelpful. If you must, you can do one liners for the other jobs to show that you were employed in the interim.

dingbat

Gold

Post by dingbat » Mon Dec 24, 2012 10:31 pm

bdubs wrote:
echooo23 wrote:The general consensus seems to be that resumes should not be more than one page, but the problem then becomes reducing it down to what matters. I have 13 years of work experience - the first one dating back 13 years was law related, then after a prolonged gap, the last 6 years were also law related. If I edit out those 4 non-law jobs in between to get the resume down to one page, would the 8 year "gap" in employment reflect poorly on me?