clerkship after externship

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

clerkship after externship

Postby Anonymous User » Sat Nov 24, 2012 3:57 pm

2L at T30, top 20%/secondary but struck out at OCI, interested in doing a clerkship. Doing an externship with a federal court judge next semester in a field in which I have some background and a strong interest (think Bankruptcy, International Trade, etc). How often do judges offer interns positions as clerks, and how common is it for judges to have a policy of never hiring interns? Does doing a judicial externship improve my chances of getting a clerkship in any significant way? Lastly, how much damage does a B in legal writing do to my chances of landing a clerkship? Thanks for your help.

ph14

Re: clerkship after externship

Postby ph14 » Sat Nov 24, 2012 4:34 pm

Anonymous User wrote:2L at T30, top 20%/secondary but struck out at OCI, interested in doing a clerkship. Doing an externship with a federal court judge next semester in a field in which I have some background and a strong interest (think Bankruptcy, International Trade, etc). How often do judges offer interns positions as clerks, and how common is it for judges to have a policy of never hiring interns? Does doing a judicial externship improve my chances of getting a clerkship in any significant way? Lastly, how much damage does a B in legal writing do to my chances of landing a clerkship? Thanks for your help.