Info on Small Firm Starting Salaries for SoCal Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Info on Small Firm Starting Salaries for SoCal

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Nov 02, 2012 7:28 pm

For what its worth -
I'm a recent graduate who recently reached the negotiation phase with a small firm. I consulted with my law schools career services for info on what would be a reasonable offer to expect from the firm. I reasoned to them that I needed to have some concept on what the market was paying new law school grads/1st year associates and since pretty much all of us only have discredited law school/us news employment rates to rely upon, I really had no idea what to expect. This is what they told me.

Based on their research/knowledge, (for civil litigation) they suggested to me that a reasonable starting salary for a smaller firm is currently:
Plaintiff's side:
$45,000-$55,000
Defense side:
$60,000-$70,000

The offer I accepted - without much negotiation - was at the high end of one of these ranges - so in my experience - the research was accurate.
So there ya go. Some food for thought. Good luck to everyone with their job searches - to say I'm relieved to be done looking....would be a gross understatement.

cinephile

Gold

Re: Info on Small Firm Starting Salaries for SoCal

Post by cinephile » Fri Nov 02, 2012 9:57 pm

Thanks for the info!

Lasers

Gold

Post by Lasers » Sun Nov 04, 2012 1:43 am

fuck me. i'd rather work a non-law job then practice for $45k.

seriously, i won't do it.