Patent Eligilbility

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Patent Eligilbility

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Oct 23, 2012 11:53 pm

Does anyone know whether firms require an actual bachelor's degree in science or engineering to practice patent prosecution, or is it just the ability to pass the patent bar? For example, I have a bachelor's in finance and a minor in biology. This makes me eligible to take the patent bar, but obviously lacks the bachelor's in science. Does it make a difference?

rinkrat19

Re: Patent eligilbility

Postby rinkrat19 » Tue Oct 23, 2012 11:58 pm

Some firms will only hire from a few select majors (say, CS, EE and PhDs in chemistry or physics) for their IP group.

Are you sure you qualify, btw? It doesn't seem like a minor would have enough credits to qualify.

Option 2
32 semester hours in a combination consisting of the following:
· 8 semester hours of chemistry or 8 semester hours of physics, and
· 24 semester hours in biology, botany, microbiology, or molecular biology.
(The 8 semester hours in chemistry or 8 semester hours of physics must be obtained in two sequential semesters, each semester including a lab. Only courses for science or engineering majors will be accepted.)

Option 4: 40 semester hours in a combination consisting of the following:
· 32 semester hours of chemistry, physics, biology, botany, microbiology, molecular
biology or engineering.