Financial Analyst after JD?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
danquayle

Financial Analyst after JD?

Postby danquayle » Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:09 pm

So a friend I graduated LS with a few years ago just got offered a job as a financial analyst. He seems really keen on taking it. He's talked to me about it and is asking my advice, but I really have no idea what financial analysts do, or even how they differ from a business analyst. My basic question: 1) is it a good move and 2) will the JD have any long term benefit on this career path.

Background:

Education: T1 Law School, Cum Laude graduate. Undergrad in Econ with 3.9.

Experience: Worked a few years in a small law firm job in a mid-market in the South. Doesn't seem to enjoy either the job or the market. His long term prospects there strike me as mediocre, unless he miraculously turns rainmaker overnight.

The Offer: Financial analyst with a Fortune 500 energy company in a strong and growing Southern market.

Intangibles: Has always wanted to work in finance in some aspect, though obviously the law route did not work out. Personal opinion is that he would be both happier with the work and the market.