Should I quit?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Should I quit?

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Sep 12, 2012 9:52 am

I have been clerking at a law firm for the past 9 months. I have been in and out of the office for the past five weeks goint to screening interviews, job fairs, and call backs. Hardly, any of them have been in the state. So, I have been in the office maybe 1-2 days out of the week for the past month. And, while I have not said anything to the attorneys, I'm sure they know that something is up. Basically, about a month ago, the hiring partner called the two clerks into his office and said we were doing a good job but he could not make offers to us until January because it was a small firm (25 attorneys) and they cannot predict their needs a year in advance. I was not entirely surprised by this because they have said this to the past two years of clerks.

Last week, I received two first-year associate offers, both in different markets. One firm is a 200+ sized firm and the other is 600+ firm. I am definitely going to accept one of these two offers. I am just waiting to hear back from some of the other firms that I had call backs with.

Now, when I come into the office, I feel super awkward. People comment, "Hey stranger," or attorneys just go by and give me a half smile. I am not sure if I am reading into too much.