Outlook for Patent Lawyer with Computer Science BA Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
nylaboy

New

Outlook for Patent Lawyer with Computer Science BA

Post by nylaboy » Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:07 am

Hi,

Here's the summary of my background

I graduated with a highest distinction in Computer Science from a US Top 30 University. (BA)
I am currently working as an application developer (iOS and Android development) at a big company (just finished my first year).
My job requires a bilingual background (English and Japanese) and, although I am an engineer, I do a lot of management work as well.
I don't make much money as much as I'd hope, but $60,000 is my salary.

--

So I've always wanted to be an attorney, but I knew that the legal field is really crappy at the moment and law school tuition is so overpriced. For that reason, I was hesitant to pursue my dream and landed on a job as a Computer Scientist. Having a rather rare background - bilingual in Japanese and English with good GPA, I didn't even have to look for a job as a Computer Science major when I was in school. Many companies emailed me and I just had to take one of the offers that I received.