Error on a resume, do I need to correct it and how?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Lawlyman
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 5:10 am

Error on a resume, do I need to correct it and how?

Postby Lawlyman » Sat Aug 11, 2012 10:49 pm

So when I was submitting my resume, I put down I was in the top 10% of my class. I even used this resume for transferring law schools, which I also thought I was in the top 10%. This was because for the first semester, I only needed 3.54 to be in the top 10% and my average GPA for both semester was 3.60. I didn't know what the ranking was because I never received any information about it and when I asked my school they told me it still wasn't out, this was about a 1-2 months ago, I never asked again and never received any ranking information. It turns out that I needed a 3.62 to be in the top 10% and I only have a 3.60. I already submitted all my resumes for OCI and I put down I was in the top 10%. I just found out the ranking very recently from a email I never looked at.

I am ranked as in the top 15%. Should I correct this? And how should I bring it up if I do correct it?

Anonymous User
Posts: 273590
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:32 am

Re: Error on a resume, do I need to correct it and how?

Postby Anonymous User » Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:28 pm

I would not say anything. It was a legitimate mistake

User avatar
thesealocust
Posts: 8448
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 8:50 pm

Re: Error on a resume, do I need to correct it and how?

Postby thesealocust » Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:43 pm

This is tough. You made a big mistake placing your ranking on your resume without knowing your ranking. It's honestly inexcusable.

On the other hand, a corrected resume will likely be a big red flag. Handing over a new resume where they only change is going from "top 10%" to "top 15%" is not a good conversation starter.

One creative and Less Dishonest(TM) Solution: Find something else that needs updating, and also drop all mention of your class ranking. The firm/interviewer will surely use the updated resume, and probably not even look for the change(s) specifically. But if they happen to glance at it or have a memory of the prior resume, it won't leap from the page as a top 10% to top 15% change would.

You can not bother updating, but here's where it could bite you in the ass: If somebody else from your school applies to the firm and has similar grades but lists themselves as top 15%, then the firm might realize your resume is dishonest. It's also conceivable that they have an arrangement in place to receive more detailed information about candidate rankings from schools than the schools provide directly to the students.

At that point you could be in deep shit, and losing a shot at an offer would be the least of your worries. If the firm gets back in touch with your school about the shenanigans, that would get ugly fast.

Lawlyman
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 5:10 am

Re: Error on a resume, do I need to correct it and how?

Postby Lawlyman » Sun Aug 12, 2012 1:50 am

Hm, sea got me all nervous now. I didn't think it was a huge mistake at first until I talked with some people. I'm literally borderline at 10%, there's probably only 1 or 2 people keeping me from making it.

They asked me for a ranking when I didn't know my ranking, so I provided top 10% which I figured I would be in. I suppose to be safe I could have put top 15% or top 10%.

Would it really be that bad if I explained myself? I did OCI really fast because of a transfer, I literally hit the deadline on working on my resume and cover letters (like hours before the deadline).

If anyone else could offer any advice it would be greatly appreciated it. I don't want to be dishonest but I also don't want to jeopardize my job opportunity.

Anonymous User
Posts: 273590
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:32 am

Re: Error on a resume, do I need to correct it and how?

Postby Anonymous User » Sun Aug 12, 2012 2:00 am

Not sure it's a big deal, but Iwould likely be worried about this as well. Depending on how far things have progressed, Ithink there are two scenarios. First, your resume has not yet been distributed to firms. In this case, just call the career services office of your school, explain the situation, and make the change. They won't care. In the alternative, your resume has already been sent to firms. In this case, do the same as above, but just ask career services what to do. I imagine they will tell you to not worry about it. If they do tell you to make a change, send updated resumes to all firms. The recruiting department is the only group of people who will see your resume. They have no power over who gets hired. They will just swap out the old resume for the new one. No big deal. Even if you do have to explain yourself, it is no big deal. This kind of thing happens.

I'd say not to worry about it, but it is clearly too late. You're already worrying. I suggest doing the above, trying to forget about it, and going forward with OCI.

Good luck broseph.

Anonymous User
Posts: 273590
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:32 am

Re: Error on a resume, do I need to correct it and how?

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Aug 13, 2012 12:42 pm

Did you submit via Symplicity (I know my schools does)? They have an option where you can update your resume.

User avatar
fatduck
Posts: 4186
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 10:16 pm

Re: Error on a resume, do I need to correct it and how?

Postby fatduck » Mon Aug 13, 2012 12:44 pm

thesealocust wrote:This is tough. You made a big mistake placing your ranking on your resume without knowing your ranking. It's honestly inexcusable.

On the other hand, a corrected resume will likely be a big red flag. Handing over a new resume where they only change is going from "top 10%" to "top 15%" is not a good conversation starter.

One creative and Less Dishonest(TM) Solution: Find something else that needs updating, and also drop all mention of your class ranking. The firm/interviewer will surely use the updated resume, and probably not even look for the change(s) specifically. But if they happen to glance at it or have a memory of the prior resume, it won't leap from the page as a top 10% to top 15% change would.

You can not bother updating, but here's where it could bite you in the ass: If somebody else from your school applies to the firm and has similar grades but lists themselves as top 15%, then the firm might realize your resume is dishonest. It's also conceivable that they have an arrangement in place to receive more detailed information about candidate rankings from schools than the schools provide directly to the students.

At that point you could be in deep shit, and losing a shot at an offer would be the least of your worries. If the firm gets back in touch with your school about the shenanigans, that would get ugly fast.

i keep reading threads and thinking "wow, rocketman has become really long-winded and informative lately!" so thanks for that.

User avatar
wiseowl
Posts: 1071
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 4:38 pm

Re: Error on a resume, do I need to correct it and how?

Postby wiseowl » Mon Aug 13, 2012 12:47 pm

People sugarcoating this and saying it isn't a big deal are misleading you.

You need to revise your resume. "I did it fast" is not an acceptable response.

And I sincerely doubt your OCS "won't care."

Anonymous User
Posts: 273590
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:32 am

Re: Error on a resume, do I need to correct it and how?

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Aug 13, 2012 12:54 pm

Do not update. If there is ever a question, you explain. Let them figure out the problem in this case, and to be honest you are top 11% or so. I've made the mistake myself and no one ever said anything. Since then I have corrected my error. Just leave it.

Also because you are so close to the margin, you could make an argument that 10.9 percent is still 10% (depending on how you round). Also is top 10% including the 10% or is it 9.99% or is it 10.99%. There is a possibility that your school is in error. This also happened to me where I calculated my lsac gpa, went through the documents, and had them correct my gpa because they miscalculated by .01. Keep it and stop listening to people who say it's misleading as in your case, it really isn't.

Anonymous User
Posts: 273590
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:32 am

Re: Error on a resume, do I need to correct it and how?

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Aug 13, 2012 2:34 pm

how is there any debate about this? OP put on a ranking when he did not, in fact, know his rank. even if what he put was an "educated guess" this is inexcusable.

most likely, firms are not going to call your transfer school to verify your rank unless it is on your transcript/someone else from your old school applies with a similar gpa. but the difference between "top 10%" and "outside top 10%" is (at least for some firms) a big deal.

the "right" thing to do would be to immediately call your career services. they will likely tell you to update your resume/tell the firms and you're fucked for making a material misrepresentation. no way a firm will hire you for guestimating and putting a rank on your resume when you did not know your actual rank (especially when there are probably 20 other qualified people from your school for that one callback spot).

on the other hand, its unlikely that this will be discovered, but i guess that's on you.

LAallday
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 2:39 pm

Re: Error on a resume, do I need to correct it and how?

Postby LAallday » Mon Nov 26, 2012 9:47 pm

Forgot the apostrophe on "Dean's List" (Deans List)

and

did not italicize position held for one of my volunteer work, the other positions were italicized.

i.e.
COMPANY
Volunteer (forgot to italicize this part)


Is it worth sending an updated resume?

Pokemon
Posts: 1866
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:58 pm

Re: Error on a resume, do I need to correct it and how?

Postby Pokemon » Mon Nov 26, 2012 9:59 pm

LAallday wrote:Forgot the apostrophe on "Dean's List" (Deans List)

and

did not italicize position held for one of my volunteer work, the other positions were italicized.

i.e.
COMPANY
Volunteer (forgot to italicize this part)


Is it worth sending an updated resume?



Great question.
Check out this thread: viewtopic.php?f=23&t=198841
Hope that helps.

LAallday
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 2:39 pm

Re: Error on a resume, do I need to correct it and how?

Postby LAallday » Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:00 pm

Good one ...

Pokemon
Posts: 1866
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:58 pm

Re: Error on a resume, do I need to correct it and how?

Postby Pokemon » Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:06 pm

Honestly though... 1) It most, most, most likely is not a big deal. 2) Anything you do about it makes it worse. 3) You cannot spend this much time about an application you already submitted. Move to the next one. Hiring is a number's game, it is not published note where you revise and revise.

Anonymous User
Posts: 273590
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:32 am

Re: Error on a resume, do I need to correct it and how?

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Nov 27, 2012 2:30 am

Don't mean to hijack but I have a similar question. I graduated in top 10.6% of class. The cutoff for magna cum laude is top 10%. The school awarded me magna cum laude honors. Do you guys think I should put top 10% on my résumé?

NotMyRealName09
Posts: 1396
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 5:50 pm

Re: Error on a resume, do I need to correct it and how?

Postby NotMyRealName09 » Tue Nov 27, 2012 11:55 am

Edit: Wait, never mind. No one ever reported that you were in the top 10% but you said it anyways. You done lied. I don't know what to tell you.

Anonymous User
Posts: 273590
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:32 am

Re: Error on a resume, do I need to correct it and how?

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Nov 27, 2012 1:57 pm

Anonymous User wrote:Don't mean to hijack but I have a similar question. I graduated in top 10.6% of class. The cutoff for magna cum laude is top 10%. The school awarded me magna cum laude honors. Do you guys think I should put top 10% on my résumé?

Personally, I'd put top 11% because 10.6 rounds to 11. That's your rank, regardless of where your school decided to make the magna cutoff. Employers probably won't know what your school's magna cutoff is, anyway.

Anonymous User
Posts: 273590
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:32 am

Re: Error on a resume, do I need to correct it and how?

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Nov 27, 2012 2:05 pm

Update your resume and put this: GPA: 3.60 (top 10%=3.62, top 15%=3.53 or whatever it is). That way it still makes sense to have the top 10% on there but you're adding the correct information (and showing how close you were to top 10%).

But definitely update your resume, you're being dishonest otherwise.

Anonymous User
Posts: 273590
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:32 am

Re: Error on a resume, do I need to correct it and how?

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Nov 27, 2012 7:40 pm

Not quite the same situation, but I made a dumb mistake copy pasting on my resume where I put the wrong town for one of my work experiences. I eventually was dinged by the one firm where someone caught it (a partner that had the company I worked for (as a client), but after I corrected it in mass mail after OCI I got offers from firms (higher vault rank as well).

It was the type of error that was pretty obvious, IE putting down that I worked for a large multinational in a city where they didn't have an office. I figure it might have gotten me a few other dings before callbacks as well, so take that however you will. I didn't update with firms that had already received the faulty resume but also did not get any offers from those firms.

User avatar
Lwoods
Posts: 1484
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 7:27 am

Re: Error on a resume, do I need to correct it and how?

Postby Lwoods » Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:56 am

Anonymous User wrote:
Anonymous User wrote:Don't mean to hijack but I have a similar question. I graduated in top 10.6% of class. The cutoff for magna cum laude is top 10%. The school awarded me magna cum laude honors. Do you guys think I should put top 10% on my résumé?

Personally, I'd put top 11% because 10.6 rounds to 11. That's your rank, regardless of where your school decided to make the magna cutoff. Employers probably won't know what your school's magna cutoff is, anyway.


Just put the latin honors and leave off the rank. 10% is dishonest; 11% will look weird because it's not a round number; and 15% may hurt you at a few select employers. If you put magna, you're being honest, and employers will probably assume top 10%, particularly those who also went to your school. If asked, say "top 10-15%".

Anonymous User
Posts: 273590
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:32 am

Re: Error on a resume, do I need to correct it and how?

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Nov 28, 2012 12:00 pm

Lwoods wrote:
Anonymous User wrote:
Anonymous User wrote:Don't mean to hijack but I have a similar question. I graduated in top 10.6% of class. The cutoff for magna cum laude is top 10%. The school awarded me magna cum laude honors. Do you guys think I should put top 10% on my résumé?

Personally, I'd put top 11% because 10.6 rounds to 11. That's your rank, regardless of where your school decided to make the magna cutoff. Employers probably won't know what your school's magna cutoff is, anyway.


Just put the latin honors and leave off the rank. 10% is dishonest; 11% will look weird because it's not a round number; and 15% may hurt you at a few select employers. If you put magna, you're being honest, and employers will probably assume top 10%, particularly those who also went to your school. If asked, say "top 10-15%".

We once got a c.v. with an article submitted to our law review where the person listed their rank as 4.5%, lol. (Full disclosure: I suggested 11%, but I get the round number argument and really think decimal points are getting ridiculous.)




Return to “Legal Employment”

Who is online

The online users are hidden on this forum.