JAG disqualification?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

JAG disqualification?

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Jul 31, 2012 2:22 pm

I'm currently in my second year of law school (or I will be in two weeks). I have great grades, a spot as a junior editor on law review, and legal experience. I served as an AmeriCorps member prior to law school, and I continue to volunteer whenever I have time. In short, I feel like I have a decent shot at JAG Corps.

Here's the issue: I was pulled over and cited for drug paraphernalia when I was nineteen. This was almost seven years ago now, but I know they'll be able to find it with very little effort. Does anyone know if this will result in an absolute bar on JAG service, or do I still have a chance?

For what it's worth, drug paraphernalia is a petty misdemeanor in my home state. I was fined something like $120 and didn't even have to show up in court.

harborleaguemvp

Re: JAG disqualification?

Postby harborleaguemvp » Tue Jul 31, 2012 2:25 pm

If it is not an absolute bar, it is very close to guaranteeing an outright denial

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Jul 31, 2012 2:39 pm

I figured. Thanks.

eandy

Postby eandy » Tue Jul 31, 2012 2:45 pm

This question is better for a recruiter than for TLS. Asking gives you the opportunity to express interest, get an accurate answer, and if you think they'll find it anyway, no harm comes from it.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Jul 31, 2012 3:06 pm