How long do mediocre grades matter?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

How long do mediocre grades matter?

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Jul 12, 2012 5:46 pm

I graduated from a lower T14 right around the median. I've been lucky enough to land a two-year Article III clerkship and am wondering whether or how much post-clerkship employers will factor grades in their hiring consideration. To what extent does the importance of law school GPA diminish over time?

Anonymous User

Re: How long do mediocre grades matter?

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Jul 12, 2012 5:48 pm

Real question is, how did you land an A3 clerkship with mediocre grades.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Jul 12, 2012 6:24 pm

Anonymous User wrote:Real question is, how did you land an A3 clerkship with mediocre grades.

Anonymous User wrote:Real question is, how did you land an A3 clerkship with mediocre grades.

+1

This is relevant to my interests as well.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Jul 12, 2012 6:36 pm

Without outing myself by sharing too many details, mainly through networking like crazy and getting partners who worked with me during my SA to call judges and vauch for me. I learned first hand that the process really is a crapshoot.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:44 pm

My experiences has been that it will depend a lot on where you want to go and, to some lesser extent, who the specific people with hiring authority are.