Giving Up - Need a Plan B

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Giving Up - Need a Plan B

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Jul 12, 2012 3:31 pm

I've done everything I can think of to get a job as an attorney, but I think I am just going to give up.

My undergraduate degree is in marketing and finance. I graduated with honors from a T50 law school about 5 years. Started working at a toxic tort law firm for a few years as a staff attorney because my summer firm renegged my offer. Kept trying to lateral to another firm, but came up with nothing. Was told that working in toxic tort law hurt my chances at ever moving out of that practice area. To "reinvent" myself, I obtain a federal magistrate clerkship in a different city. My clerkship is about to end and I have been applying to jobs for the past 6 months with no luck. The city where my clerkship is at is small with little legal opportunity. I have been trying to move back to my old city, but have been unlucky.

With the legal experience I obtained thus far, and undergraduate background, what job alternative should I look for? I'm trying to think of jobs that would value clerkship exprience as well as some trial experience. Any thoughts/success stories?

CanadianWolf

Re: Giving Up - Need a Plan B

Postby CanadianWolf » Thu Jul 12, 2012 3:35 pm

Can you clerk for a state supreme court justice or for the state appellate court ?

attractive_NUisance

Postby attractive_NUisance » Thu Jul 12, 2012 3:43 pm