t14 to teacher/firefighter/cop

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

t14 to teacher/firefighter/cop

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Jul 05, 2012 11:58 pm

At a t-14 and did alright. not very into big law, 1L was enough competing with all those super smart kids for me, I don't want to do that for 80hrs a week. I'm pretty public interest oriented, if I'm a lawyer PI work is what I plan to do. At my internship I started hearing rumblings about people leaving the DA's to become police because of better pay and benefits. I enjoyed studying law and have enjoyed my internship so far. I feel like I'm actually getting a feel for what it would be like to be a lawyer, which is great! But part of me feels like if I'm going to have to leave it to become a cop etc.. maybe I should just save myself the next two years?

Has anyone on these boards gone to law school and then decided to be a teacher/firefighter/cop? I ask about these professions because I'm wondering if they qualify for IBR and quite honestly are three that I've always thought about doing. AND I'd like to have a job where I help people etc..

I'd also like it if people from these professions could speak as to why they left them to go to law school.

Anonymous User

Re: t14 to teacher/firefighter/cop

Postby Anonymous User » Fri Jul 06, 2012 12:01 am