Improving writing as a rising 2L Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Improving writing as a rising 2L

Post by Anonymous User » Sat Jun 23, 2012 10:17 pm

I'm starting to think that I am a shitty writer. My first year grades were great, but I don't think that correlates with writing skills.

Evidence 1: I'm at a federal internship this summer and I am not getting a lot of assignments, despite the fact that my attorney is extremely busy. I am extremely meticulous with everything I turn in, and there are never any typos, errors, etc. Yet most of my work product has either been shoved in a file somewhere or otherwise disregarded. I'm thinking it is because of my poor writing.

Evidence 2: I have been at median in every legal writing assignment in both semesters. I have also been at median in every take home test.

Evidence 3: I tend to write really lengthy, complicated prose. When I go back and edit my writing, my number one task is usually to eliminate complex sentences and word choices. Even so, it will still be jumbled.

Evidence 4: My transfer personal statement is shitty and I can't figure out how to fix it.

In short, I want some help on improving my writing and work product. I've read a couple of the books on legal writing but I haven't found them particularly useful. I think I just need more practice writing.

Any ideas?

Edit: anon bc of internship

JusticeJackson

Silver

Re: Improving writing as a rising 2L

Post by JusticeJackson » Sat Jun 23, 2012 10:31 pm