Tier 3 JD - BigLaw partner - here to answer your questions Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Dmac

New

Tier 3 JD - BigLaw partner - here to answer your questions

Post by Dmac » Sun Jun 10, 2012 12:13 pm

I am a graduate of a tier 3 law school. Associate offer from BigLaw prior to third year. Partner (equity) at BigLaw (top 75) firm. Co- founded wind development company while 5th year associate. Currently, have over 450MW operational.

My nephew will be a 1L at top 5 law school in fall. He and I discussed the pros/cons of law school last night. While reading some articles on the internet this a.m., I came across this board and thought I would offer my thoughts/advice to anyone in need.

So. . . . .start posting!

Anonymous User

Re: Tier 3 JD - BigLaw partner - here to answer your questions

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Jun 10, 2012 12:18 pm

Coming from a T3 what type of grades did you have to get a Big Law gig? Law Review? Work Experience?

LawIdiot86

Silver

Post by LawIdiot86 » Sun Jun 10, 2012 12:20 pm

How much should prospective associates be concerned with firm health in the V50/V100 range? If a firm's had more recent layoffs or has not resumed hiring at a higher rate as quickly as other firms, does that mean it is not as healthy and less stable then other firms?

donniedarko

New

Post by donniedarko » Sun Jun 10, 2012 12:35 pm

What separated you from others when the firm was choosing new partners?

Dmac

New

Post by Dmac » Sun Jun 10, 2012 12:39 pm