Ranked 2nd at UofIllinois. Lock for chicago biglaw?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Ranked 2nd at UofIllinois. Lock for chicago biglaw?

Postby Anonymous User » Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:03 pm

Will I score an OCI big law job for sure, even if I'm not good at interviewing? Or do I need to spend time mass mailing too?

Anonymous User

Re: Ranked 2nd at UofIllinois. Lock for chicago biglaw?

Postby Anonymous User » Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:06 pm

Very good shot, but nothing is ever a sure thing. Work on your interview skills and do targeted mailings.

KMaine

Postby KMaine » Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:09 pm

I would be shocked if no, but you still need to prepare like it is your job, not like the job is yours.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:11 pm

Anonymous User wrote:Very good shot, but nothing is ever a sure thing. Work on your interview skills and do targeted mailings.

What do you mean targeted? Tailored specifically to whatever firm I'm mailing? How much detail does one need to go into when doing this?

Ludo!

Postby Ludo! » Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:17 pm

That's funny that you're second because actually a person ranked second at Illinois last year struck out. But I wouldn't worry too much. You are essentially a lock unless your personality is as bad as that person's, and that seems doubtful

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:20 pm