Westlaw Next summer access

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Poupee22

Westlaw Next summer access

Postby Poupee22 » Wed Jun 06, 2012 7:45 pm

I was at work today with some downtime and I started researching topics related to my work (but definitely not for work) on Westlaw Next without thinking. When I logged out, a message appeared that itemized the cases that I looked at and said that the charges would be seen on my invoice. I am a student and I requested summer access with the usual restrictions.

I called Westlaw Next and spoke to the customer service representative. She was really nice and assured me that everything that I do under my account would be charged to the school. She even said that the site will not let me look at anything that cost extra and warnings would pop up. I even wrote to customer service afterwards and complimented her service. So I log back into Westlaw Next to research more for my personal curiosity. Again, when I logged off, the message appeared again. And I don't think this message appears when I use Lexis Advanced.

Is anyone else having this issue? I am very nervous that thousands of dollars will be personally charged to me. I did a Google search and there are horror stories about students being charged personally or having to split the bill with the firm.

Anyone familiar with the crackdown procedures? Should I be worried? I don't even work in a firm - I work for a corporation that I researched today but my work does not involve legal research at all.

lawschoolftw