Another Depressed (URM) Law Student Here... Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
lifehopeful

New

Another Depressed (URM) Law Student Here...

Post by lifehopeful » Fri May 18, 2012 2:38 pm

I once hit rock bottom. I graduated at the bottom of my high school class, had minor legal trouble (false accusations of threats and DTP which I think are on my record) my parents couldn't stand me, bombed my SAT, and (surprisingly) got into one college. Even more embarrassing, I told myself I was going to get into law school-somehow, someway.

During the summer between my senior of high school and freshman year of college, I had an epiphany of sorts. Change was the motto and I was determined to end the next chapter of my life on a good note. My college career ended with a 3.5 gpa, numerous awards and honor societies, finally made my parents proud and received acceptances into a considerable amount top law schools.

I matriculated to a law school in the T20-T30 range with renewed faith in myself once again. But, again, I hit rock bottom. I studied hard (honestly) and ended my first year well below median. I sent hundreds of job applications but did not receive one interview. Ultimately, I did end up working for a smaller law firm and that was as a result of a desperation attempt in emailing random attorneys that I had absolutely no connections too.