Billing Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
kalvano

Diamond

Billing

Post by kalvano » Wed May 16, 2012 11:41 am

So, this is probably a dumbass question, but I've never worked at a civil firm before. I know that every hour you're present is not a billable hour, but what constitutes acceptable billing? I'm sure talking on the phone with a client is billable, as is drafting a motion. But what about reading previous motions and briefs to get caught up on a case? Is that billable?

I've read that every billable hour is about 1.75 actual hours, so where does that extra 45 minutes per hour go? If I spend from 10:00 - 11:00 reading case motions and trial transcripts and do it for a solid hour, is that an hour I can bill?

I don't actually have to bill much, if any, at my firm. I'm just curious in general.

Anonymous User

Re: Billing

Post by Anonymous User » Wed May 16, 2012 11:56 am

Lots of times, it depends on the client.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Wed May 16, 2012 12:31 pm

kalvano wrote:So, this is probably a dumbass question, but I've never worked at a civil firm before. I know that every hour you're present is not a billable hour, but what constitutes acceptable billing? I'm sure talking on the phone with a client is billable, as is drafting a motion. But what about reading previous motions and briefs to get caught up on a case? Is that billable?