Would Top 10 JD + IP LLM +Federal Clerkship = Professor Job?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Would Top 10 JD + IP LLM +Federal Clerkship = Professor Job?

Postby Anonymous User » Fri May 11, 2012 1:35 pm

I have a somewhat theoretical question. I graduated from MVNP, and I am working for a federal agency. I like my current job working for the federal government, but it is definitely not my life's calling. I am interested in pursuing a teaching career, though not 100% sure. I was recently accepted into GW IP LLM program. I know, I know LLMs are largely considered a waste of time and money here at TLS. However, I am really interested in building up my IP background (EE undergrad and grad at top engineering school) in a way that I was not able to at my former law school.

Would an IP LLM and a federal clerkship (at court with an IP focus perhaps) help with securing a teaching / research fellowship position (often a precursor to getting an assistant professor position) at a law school?

Any thoughts?

target

Re: Would Top 10 JD + IP LLM +Federal Clerkship = Professor Job?

Postby target » Fri May 11, 2012 1:59 pm

I don't know the answer to your questions but just wonder why GW? If you already do a LLM, why not get one from a toppy top school?

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Fri May 11, 2012 2:35 pm