Programming skills but no tech degree

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
X_Soda

Programming skills but no tech degree

Postby X_Soda » Tue May 01, 2012 5:04 pm

Hey, if I have demonstrable web development skills (portfolio of websites using HTML5, CSS, PHP, Javascript, and Python) but my degree is liberal arts centric, are there certain types of firms/organizations to which I may be more marketable? I'd like to work at an organization where I can engage my technological skills in some kind of meaningful way, but it seems that most tech-centric law firms are looking for people with specific DEGREES in the hard sciences. I'm about top 5% at Fordham, probably down to top 10-20% after this semester.

CyLaw

Re: Programming skills but no tech degree

Postby CyLaw » Tue May 01, 2012 5:11 pm

X_Soda wrote:Hey, if I have demonstrable web development skills (portfolio of websites using HTML5, CSS, PHP, Javascript, and Python) but my degree is liberal arts centric, are there certain types of firms/organizations to which I may be more marketable? I'd like to work at an organization where I can engage my technological skills in some kind of meaningful way, but it seems that most tech-centric law firms are looking for people with specific DEGREES in the hard sciences. I'm about top 5% at Fordham, probably down to top 10-20% after this semester.