Question from overseas law grad

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
auslawgrad

Question from overseas law grad

Postby auslawgrad » Tue Apr 24, 2012 8:41 pm

Hey guys,

By way of background, I'm a recent graduate of an Australian law school thinking of moving to New York for work. While I recognise that's probably easier said than done, I'd really appreciate a bit of guidance from anyone who has the time or is in a similar position. I'm currently working at a graduate lawyer at a top 3 Australian law firm in Sydney, have clerked in London at a Magic Circle firm and have good grades/law review etc. What I don't have is a US law degree.

So some quick questions:
1) can anyone say from experience that not having a US law degree is fatal to my pipe-dream;
2) can anyone point me towards a rough template of how American firms like CVs/covering letters prepared; and
3) does anyone know from experience of any firms that are currently taking overseas qualified lawyers?

I work with people who have returned from firms in NY (Skadden etc) but almost all of them went over pre-GFC when things were a whole lot easier.

Thanks in advance.

sophie316

Re: Question from overseas law grad

Postby sophie316 » Tue Apr 24, 2012 10:39 pm