Vet with 60% Disability Rating - Impact on Gov. Hiring? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Vet with 60% Disability Rating - Impact on Gov. Hiring?

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Apr 12, 2012 7:11 pm

I am a OIF/OEF vet currently in law school. I would love to get one of those coveted jobs at DOJ after graduating (DOJ Honors and/or AUSA eventually). I have heard that military veterans with over 50% disability get hiring preference in the federal government - does anyone have any knowledge or experience related to whether that is true of legal hiring at DOJ?

My credentials so far would make me a competitive applicant but "competitive applicants" are a dime a dozen these days.

Any insight would be very appreciated.

Anonymous User

Re: Vet with 60% Disability Rating - Impact on Gov. Hiring?

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Apr 12, 2012 7:31 pm

Anonymous User wrote:I am a OIF/OEF vet currently in law school. I would love to get one of those coveted jobs at DOJ after graduating (DOJ Honors and/or AUSA eventually). I have heard that military veterans with over 50% disability get hiring preference in the federal government - does anyone have any knowledge or experience related to whether that is true of legal hiring at DOJ?

My credentials so far would make me a competitive applicant but "competitive applicants" are a dime a dozen these days.