1L Job in National Security, Wants Bankruptcy

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.

Is this a job worth taking?

Absolutely
80%
If nothing else works out
20%
Not law-related enough to snag a 2L SA
No votes

Total votes: 5

Anonymous User

1L Job in National Security, Wants Bankruptcy

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Mar 22, 2012 4:10 pm

Excuse the anon feature, but the company involved is extremely paranoid, so better safe than sorry.

I have been working with/for a gentlemen for a few months and we collectively just made him look extremely good in front of his client. The two of us sat down, talked for a while today, and he seemed to take a liking to me.

He apparently is the CEO of a defense/law enforcement contracting company (essentially a smaller version of Dynacorp/Haliburton/the Former Blackwater) that he wants me to work for. I am fairly confident I can convert the offer into a possibly paid internship with the legal division (looks to be about 3-4 people).

Is this a good lead, a good backup, or a waste of a 1L summer?

Some additional background:
-Have a strong National Security Background
-Going to Boalt
-90% sure I want biglaw corporate restructuring, with a dream exit into a GC in the public sector if and when I don't make partner
-Job would allow me to gain residency since its in CA

ToTransferOrNot

Re: 1L Job in National Security, Wants Bankruptcy

Postby ToTransferOrNot » Thu Mar 22, 2012 4:51 pm