Phd---> JD

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Phd---> JD

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Mar 05, 2012 8:14 pm

I would love to hear from anyone who has a Phd and went on to get a JD (in terms of job prospects). I have a Phd from a very good school in a non-science field. I have been very close to getting a tenure track job, but it didn't work out and for various reasons I'm ready to switch careers. I applied to law school this year and I'm in to two T14s (the only ones I applied to) and a T20 with a full ride (strong regional school). The schools are UMichigan, Duke, and WUSTL. The question is, for the purposes of getting a practicing law job how will my Phd affect hiring? Can anyone speak as a similar candidate? I think the legal academic track will be very hard to get into, and I really don't even want to do that. But I'm worried that I will have trouble getting a job as a 34 year old with a PHD in a field that is of no obvious use to my work as a lawyer.

goodthings

Re: Phd---> JD

Postby goodthings » Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:04 pm

Last edited by goodthings on Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AntipodeanPhil

Postby AntipodeanPhil » Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:35 pm

I am in almost exactly the same situation and would appreciate any information on the topic.

I asked a version of the question here:

viewtopic.php?f=23&t=163550&start=425