T14 Grad Working in Non-Legal Field - Outlook?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
BrianFellow

T14 Grad Working in Non-Legal Field - Outlook?

Postby BrianFellow » Tue Feb 07, 2012 8:34 pm

I graduated from a T14 just outside of cum laude (shucks!) and was on the eboard of a secondary journal. No publications. I took a tangentially legal-related job out of law school for the money. I make more than most public interest lawyers but less than most lawyers in gainful private practice.

I have no real complaints about my life, but worry that every day I spend in the non-legal world is further disqualifying me from practice because legal employers would feel I'm too old / too rusty. I can't really afford to take a significant pay cut for some lawyer jobs, especially if they don't offer rapid advancement.

One thought I had is waiting this out (0-3 years) until I find some USDC or Magistrate judge clerkship somewhere, ideally for a vacancy that can't take student applicants.

Thoughts? Not exactly a sob story but not a resounding success story either. ;-)

Anonymous User

Re: T14 Grad Working in Non-Legal Field - Outlook?

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:39 pm