SEC Summer Honors (unpaid) v. DHS (paid) Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
eastcoast_iub

Bronze

SEC Summer Honors (unpaid) v. DHS (paid)

Post by eastcoast_iub » Thu Feb 02, 2012 7:53 pm

I was just accepted to the SEC Summer Honors Program, but I was also offerred a paid internship at DHS (~$12k for summer).

I have several years work experience in the investment industry and an MBA, so my experience lines up with the SEC internship better, and it seems pretty interesting. I understand that the program is pretty competitive as well, so may be viewed favorably on a resume.

At the same time, the other position is paid, plus it will give me an opportunity to get something non-investment related on my resume.

The consensus on here seems to be that what you do for your 1L internship is not hugely important, so long as it is legal work.
Given that, I am inclined to take the DHS job. Need final decision by tomorrow (and SEC won't let me split my summer). Thoughts?

Helmholtz

Gold

Re: SEC Summer Honors (unpaid) v. DHS (paid)

Post by Helmholtz » Thu Feb 02, 2012 7:55 pm

I would take the money in a heartbeat.

LawIdiot86

Silver

Post by LawIdiot86 » Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:44 pm

For a 1L summer, the money will be fine.

IAFG

Platinum

Post by IAFG » Fri Feb 03, 2012 3:57 am