Science background and IP Law

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
estopped

Science background and IP Law

Postby estopped » Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:11 pm

I'm a 1L now and considering IP law. I have an undergraduate degree from a top ivy in Chemistry, but I am concerned my GPA was too low for me to get into IP. Now I'm at a lower T-14 and wondering if my undergrad experience can help me out, either for an SA position or a position in the long run. Should I mention my interest in IP, or will that hurt me? I don't want firms to think that I'm only interested in IP, and then ding me when they see my GPA was low for undergrad, or to miss out on any benefit of having a science background.
Last edited by estopped on Tue Jan 03, 2012 3:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Anonymous User

Re: Science background and IP Law

Postby Anonymous User » Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:28 pm

You should be fine. Mention your interest in IP. They'll understand the lower GPA for a real degree.
I graduated summa in BS.EE and found a job by dec 14th.

stratocophic

Postby stratocophic » Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:35 pm