2L Summer Job at Labor Side Union

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Ordell

2L Summer Job at Labor Side Union

Postby Ordell » Sun Dec 25, 2011 10:47 pm

!
Last edited by Ordell on Tue Dec 27, 2011 2:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

LawIdiot86

Re: 2L Summer Job at Labor Side Union

Postby LawIdiot86 » Sun Dec 25, 2011 10:59 pm

Ordell wrote:Hey guys!

Just wanted some TLS advice...

I'm a 2nd year student (URM-black) at a lower-T50 school in a big legal market. I just scored a summer gig at the GCO for one of the largest labor unions in the country (AFGE, AFL-CIO). And it's paid! I just wanted to know what kind of job this could lead to (I'm certainly interested in practicing L&E law).

Could I end up working in a small firm dedicated to L&E law or even working for the the NLRB?

Also, what kind of salary could I expect should I work as GC for the organization (or a similar one) in my legal career?

Thanks!

I can't speak to small firm or salary, but the NLRB hires about 5 entry level attorneys a year from 1,500 applicants. I had a roommate from a T-50, mid-class who interned there for his 2L summer and despite doing a good job, they told him he pretty much had no shot.

Ordell

Postby Ordell » Sun Dec 25, 2011 11:21 pm

LawIdiot86 wrote: