What kind of person would be unfit for BigLaw?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

What kind of person would be unfit for BigLaw?

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Dec 05, 2011 3:03 pm

I'm a 0L student at a lower T14 school and I suddenly wanted to ask this question.

First of all, I have a really low self esteem about my intellectual abilities. This might sound stupid and I've discussed this with many people on this forum who told me so(hence the anon) but the thing is, I had to study for a very long time (3 takes, over the course of 1.5 years) to merely get a low 170's on my LSAT and I'm still struggling with reading while I'm here. Also, I'm not a good writer imo.

Anyhow, adding to that low self esteem, I am consistently discouraged by hearing bad things about law school and the legal profession from people in the legal profession. I sort of relate to how law school sucks (especially 1L) but was wondering whether that would continue into my career.

So tell me, does working at BigLaw really suck that bad? Then why do you do it? I don't get why everyone complains so much but they don't tend to stop doing it. Is it the money and prestige? Or is there something else that grabs you? If I'm not that interested in money and prestige would I not be able to stand the boring, dryness of work?

Julio_El_Chavo

Re: What kind of person would be unfit for BigLaw?

Postby Julio_El_Chavo » Mon Dec 05, 2011 3:20 pm

Worry about whether you're cut out for law school first.

Anonymous User