Interning In an Area of Law You Do Not Want to Go Into

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
SDviaVA

Interning In an Area of Law You Do Not Want to Go Into

Postby SDviaVA » Mon Nov 28, 2011 5:09 pm

I am pretty intent on going into IP/Patent Law. I have a UG degree in Biotech and 5 years experience working in a lab prior to law school.

However, a friend of mine at law school has set me up with an interview at his old internship he did at a small firm doing transactional/commercial work. It’s not exactly what I want to do in the long term, but i think it may be good legal experience.

My question is - should I....
A. Go for the internship for next semester in an area I know I don’t want to work in for the experience.
B. Hold off on interning and keep looking for something IP/Patent law related.

Some other things to keep in mind:
1. I would try to do the internship for class credit.
2. My HOPE is to transition an unpaid internship for credit next semester into a paid internship this summer.
3. I am 2L.

LawIdiot86

Re: Interning In an Area of Law You Do Not Want to Go Into

Postby LawIdiot86 » Mon Nov 28, 2011 5:51 pm

SDviaVA wrote:I am pretty intent on going into IP/Patent Law. I have a UG degree in Biotech and 5 years experience working in a lab prior to law school.