Rate my Craigslist ad

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
The Valkyrie

Rate my Craigslist ad

Postby The Valkyrie » Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:40 am

I'm a litigator with two years of trial experience. I graduated from a good, tier 1 law school. My former employers have nothing but great things to say about my abilities as an attorney and my ability to get along well with people. I'm tough. I know that being an attorney means extensive preparation and putting in long hours in order to be successful. I have real trial experience. I understand how to grow a firm's business and turn a profit for my boss. I'm experienced, but also young and willing to work for a paralegal's salary.

So why can't I get an interview?

I see ads being repeatedly posted on here asking for candidates that are less qualified than I am. I apply, send in all of the requested materials, and I don't even get a "thanks but no thanks" response. Then they post the ad again a week later. What exactly is the problem here? I know it's a "buyer's market," but COME ON. What is going on with this profession? Did everyone forget that hiring an associate can actually mean MORE profits? Have partners and older attorneys lost their nerve? I understand that any posting on here will bring on a flood of JD resumes, but I don't understand why the same ads get posted over and over while I sit here, with seven years of higher education and two years of first-chair litigation experience, unable to even get a rejection letter back.