WE/References Question Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

WE/References Question

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Nov 02, 2011 5:20 pm

Here's my problem: I'm a 1L. I graduated from UW-Madison in May 2010. From 2008 to October 2010, I worked at an 501(c)(4) organization, eventually working my way up to Deputy Development Director shortly after graduation.

Problem? I left in early October 2010, and the employer expected me to stay on until the end of the political campaign in November. I never really told the employer why I left, but I was tired of working 24/7 and wanted some time off to work-part time, travel, and in late October I had some commitments I really did not want to miss out on. After I left, the employer mentioned that I did good work, but couldn't give me a good reference because I left prematurely. I have other WE, but I really do not want to leave the Deputy Dev Director position out of my resume, as it's the best WE I've got.

What should I do?

IAFG

Platinum

Re: WE/References Question

Post by IAFG » Wed Nov 02, 2011 5:24 pm

You can't just leave it off your resume. There would be a giant gap. Only a few firms check.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Nov 02, 2011 5:29 pm

IAFG wrote:You can't just leave it off your resume. There would be a giant gap. Only a few firms check.
So leave it on the resume, but don't submit them as a reference?