JD Graduate...Interested in Doing an LLM in Tax But..

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

JD Graduate...Interested in Doing an LLM in Tax But..

Postby Anonymous User » Sun Sep 25, 2011 10:47 pm

Unfortunately, my grades are not the best. I graduated well below median at a school in the 20-25ish range but want to work in the nyc/nj/philly area in that order. I have a job in nyc/nj but nothing prestigious. Any chance of getting into a top LLM (for tax) program?

MrPapagiorgio

Re: JD Graduate...Interested in Doing an LLM in Tax But..

Postby MrPapagiorgio » Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:06 pm

The top LLM programs that you speak of?

As for you chances? Well, I don't know. Just figured I'd get the ball rolling with the worthwhile programs.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:42 pm

OP here: Specifically NYU or GTown...which ever can give me some leverage up in the mid-atlantic job market. I'm wondering if their admissions process is less competitive than the jd programs. Also, do they take urm into account?

CanadianWolf

Postby CanadianWolf » Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:47 pm

Many LLM Tax programs require graduating in the top 50% of your law school class. Some require top 25% & a few also review tax law courses grades earned in your JD program.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:47 pm