Will I lose my SA-ship?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Will I lose my SA-ship?

Postby Anonymous User » Sun Sep 25, 2011 2:00 am

Transfer from t10% at an upper t2 to lower t14 SA offer from a v15 firm, contingent on "comparable academic performance".

I'm worried about keeping the job because I don't have any academic record at my new school. I'm lucky enough to have done well first year and have a transfer/offer, but really freaked out to potentially lose it. I'm studying my ass off for my classes, but feel like I'm in 1L all over again.

Does anyone with comparable experiences have any insight? Not asking for reassurance necessarily, just want to know if I should be worried about losing this opportunity I already feel like I don't deserve.

TYIA!

mrloblaw

Re: Will I lose my SA-ship?

Postby mrloblaw » Sun Sep 25, 2011 2:03 am

Is the concern that you can't maintain the grades, or that you can't maintain the grades if you coast like the rest of the kids who already have SAs with the place they want to work forever?

If it's the former, I'd say the (scant) evidence I've seen around here shows that you'll be fine; grades might drop some, but if you do 1L-sih work, not enough to jeopardize your offer.

If it's the latter, well, I'm not sure how lazy you're planning to go, here.

quakeroats

Postby quakeroats » Sun Sep 25, 2011 2:12 am

Anonymous User wrote:Transfer from t10% at an upper t2 to lower t14 SA offer from a v15 firm, contingent on "comparable academic performance".