Passing on job/networking opportunity? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
mimi82

New

Passing on job/networking opportunity?

Post by mimi82 » Sun Sep 25, 2011 1:29 am

I'm hoping someone can help me understand this.

The first happened recently. I'm an evening student at a DC law school and have worked within the federal gov't for years. And as such I've made some great contacts. So when visiting a previous coworker I found out that he was in the process of hiring about 5 paid interns for the office. The work is directly related to legal work and pays pretty good. I told a classmate who doesn't have a job but is an evening student who pretended to be interested and then waited a week to say she just decided she didn't want to work. I don't understand this. With this economy and with how many lawyers are out of work I would be all over this opportunity. The job is for students so the person would have flexibility of work hours. Plus they have the option to convert to a federal position if they want.