Did I screw myself for this OCI sesison?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Did I screw myself for this OCI sesison?

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Sep 12, 2011 4:32 pm

I'm a 2L at a top 25 school. My grades are average, but I'm on the law review staff. I have several years of good work experience in addition to clerking last summer at a small law firm in my area. I have just completed my first round of OCI interviews and so far it hasn't gone well.

My first interviews were with NLJ250 firms in my town. I was rejected by both after the initial OCI. My final interview was today with a mid-sized (50 attorneys) firm. I have a networking connection with one of the named partners at said firm. Nevertheless, I fear the worst.

I showed up to the law school at about four minutes prior to my interview time (mistake 1). I'm a bit (okay, a lot) out of shape. Despite this, I managed to sprint my way up the stairs to the second floor where the interview took place. This was quite entertaining to the group of 1L's receiving a library tour, I'm sure. Just before rounding the corner to my interview room, I stopped to tuck in the front of my shirt (mistake 2, since I'm not sure I fully succeeded). I arrived at the room slightly out of breath and with the slightest hint of forehead sweat (mistake 3).