What to do for a year.

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

What to do for a year.

Postby Anonymous User » Sat Aug 27, 2011 1:17 pm

I'm a 2011 graduate, took the bar exam and have a clerkship lined up for next year (2012-13). But I don't have a jerb for 2011-2012. I don't want a 1-year gap on my resume at all. Any ideas on what I can do?

For firms, I'm guessing they wouldn't like hiring someone that's going to leave after a year. This situation is spinnable to a 1-year trial run (i.e., sort of an extended summer associate) but I don't know if any firms would go for that. Worth trying, but does anyone know if this works? Also, official internship positions at various places seem to often require that the applicant still be in school, which I'm not. Again, worth sending mail to these places to see if they're willing to hire me anyway, but does anyone know if this works?

What else? Majority of typical year-long positions (clerkships, fellowships, etc) have obviously been filled by now, though on occasion, stuff opens up and I apply for them. I could also do some unpaid work, but not for very long--my financial situation totally sucks. There are occasionally some temp/project jobs, but when I look at the job posting they almost always want people with some experience, not a recent grad.

Thanks!

Anonymous User

Re: What to do for a year.

Postby Anonymous User » Sat Aug 27, 2011 1:26 pm