a future in IP law?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
tekumamba

a future in IP law?

Postby tekumamba » Thu Aug 18, 2011 1:49 am

I'm a molecular biology student interested in applying to law school, and I think I want to study IP law. I'm concerned though, because I've heard that an IP lawyer usually won't get hired unless they have a PhD in their field. Is this just hear-say, or is it true? Is it due to the bad economy that employers are being more selective, or is this just a general requirement that I'm hoping is not true? =P I don't want to have to spend another 4-7 years in addition to the 3 years of law school chasing a thesis defense in biology (usually people graduate it in 6 years).

thanks

Julio_El_Chavo

Re: a future in IP law?

Postby Julio_El_Chavo » Thu Aug 18, 2011 2:10 am

There's no money left in prosecution. IP lit requires you to be top half at a T10 for a decent shot. What law school will you be attending?

yeast master

Postby yeast master » Thu Aug 18, 2011 2:41 am