Callback Mistake

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Callback Mistake

Postby Anonymous User » Fri Aug 05, 2011 12:13 pm

I have a callback at a firm I'm interested in, but I've hit a major snag. I want to do litigation, but I have a resume that reads like a transactional attorney: I'm a former public accountant, a CPA, yada yada yada.

In the cover letter, I indicated that I preferred litigation, and I explained why. I'm not opposed to doing transactional work (I just need a job!), but I do prefer litigation. When they called me for a callback, they said they were going to interview me for the one transactional spot, and I indicated that was okay.

I have a friend that works at the firm (and is on the hiring committee). Apparently, they're now concerned that I'm not sure what I want, because the cover letter says litigation, but in the phone I agreed to transactional. She leaked that to me (the rest of the hiring committee doesn't know I know her).

Any advice on how to address this in the interview?

Aston2412

Re: Callback Mistake

Postby Aston2412 » Fri Aug 05, 2011 12:18 pm

You would take the transactional job I'm assuming?

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Fri Aug 05, 2011 12:23 pm

Aston2412 wrote:You would take the transactional job I'm assuming?

OP here. Yes, I would take it.

stratocophic

Postby stratocophic » Fri Aug 05, 2011 12:32 pm

Anonymous User wrote:
Aston2412 wrote:You would take the transactional job I'm assuming?

OP here. Yes, I would take it.