Does 1L Summer Location Matter?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
SilverE2

Does 1L Summer Location Matter?

Postby SilverE2 » Mon Aug 01, 2011 1:43 am

I'm starting law school in a few weeks. This past spring/summer, February through June, I worked as an office assistant for a midlaw firm (3 offices, about 80 attorneys). Before leaving one of the partners told me that I was more than welcome to come back next summer and work for them. It would be paid, but not a lot, I think 10-12 an hour, but I would be able to live at my parent's house and save money.

I'm going to try to swing the grades for biglaw in NYC, and this firm is not in NYC. I know having a paying internship 1L summer lined up is more than many can ask for, but does it matter where I work my first summer, or is the experience more important?

DallasCowboy

Re: Does 1L Summer Location Matter?

Postby DallasCowboy » Mon Aug 01, 2011 1:45 am

Ties don't matter for NYC. It sounds like you are in a good spot.

SilverE2

Postby SilverE2 » Mon Aug 01, 2011 3:06 am

DallasCowboy wrote:Ties don't matter for NYC. It sounds like you are in a good spot.

Thanks! Straight to the point.

birdlaw117

Postby birdlaw117 » Mon Aug 01, 2011 3:31 am