Engineering experience/Masters degree necessary?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
phoenix91

Engineering experience/Masters degree necessary?

Postby phoenix91 » Fri Jul 22, 2011 8:56 pm

I am a 2010 college graduate with a BS in Mechanical Engineering. I have one year's experience working for a top defense company in fluids engineering, and am strongly considering choosing patent law as a career path. My question(s) revolve around whether or not more engineering experience and a masters degree in engineering are worthwhile to obtain in order to make myself more marketable. The company I currently work for will pay for my masters, but it will take me 3 years to get it while working. The way I see it, I have 3 options:

1. Continue working as an engineer for the next three years while obtaining my masters degree, and then go to law school. I would end up with four year's experience as an engineer, a masters degree, and a law degree.

2. Go straight to graduate school to get a masters degree in mechanical engineering, and then go to law school. I would end up with only one years experience in engineering, but I would be able to get my masters degree in 1.5-2 years instead of 3.

3. Go straight to law school. This would obviously be the fastest route, but I would only have one year of engineering experience and no masters degree.